Dr Anna Barron

Dr Anna BarronAnna M. Barron Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Dr Anna Barron is a Nanyang Assistant Professor in the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Nanyang Technological University and a Visiting Scientist in the Department of Functional Brain Imaging Research at the National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology, Japan.

After obtaining an Honours degree and PhD in Neuroscience from The University of Western Australia, Dr Barron carried out postdoctoral work at the Davis School of Gerontology at the University of Southern California in the United States, before joining the Department of Biophysics and Life Sciences at The University of Tokyo. Her early career research has been recognised by a number of prestigious awards, including the 2008 Women in Endocrinology Young Investigators Award, 2009 American-Australian Neurological Fellowship, 2010 Invitational Postdoctoral Fellowship from the Japan Society for the Promotion for Science, and the 2014 Alzheimer`s Association Imaging Consortium Fellowship. In 2016 Anna was awarded an Elite Nanyang Assistant Professorship.

Integrating in vivo PET imaging with cellular, molecular, biochemical and behavioural approaches in preclinical animal models of disease, Dr Barron has made significant contributions to our understanding of how complex aging, neuroendocrine and lifestyle factors alter susceptibility to Alzheimer`s disease. Since commencing her career in 2005, Dr Barron has published over 20 articles in the leading Neuroscience and Endocrinology journals including The Journal of Neuroscience, Neurobiology of Aging, Frontiers in Neuroendocrinology and The Journal of Endocrinology.


  • 2014-2015  Grant-in Aid for Young Scientists, Japan Society for the promotion of Science (JSPS).
  • 2015 Travel Grant, International Brain Research Organization.
  • 2010-2012  Grant-in-Aid for Scientific Research, JSPS.
  • 2010-2012  Invitational Postdoctoral Fellowship, JSPS.
  • 2009-2010 Neurological Fellowship, American Australian Association.
  • 2008 Grant for Research Student Training, The University of Western Australia.
  • 2006-2008 Postgraduate support grant, GlaxoSmithKline.
  • 2005-2008  Postgraduate Research Fellowship, The University of Western Australia.


  • Alzheimer`s Imaging Consortium Fellowship (2014)
  • Alzheimer`s Association International Conference Travel Award (2012 & 2013)
  • Young Investigator Fellowship, International Meeting on Steroids & Nervous System (2011)
  • Endocrine Society Travel Award (2008)
  • West Australian Department of Health Prize, Australian Society of Medical Researchers Symposia (2008)
  • Women in Endocrinology Young Investigator Award (2008)
  • Australian Women in Endocrinology Merit Award (2008)
  • Graduate Research Student Travel Award, University of Western Australia (2008)
  • Japan Neuroscience Society Travel Award (2007)
  • Australian Neuromuscular Research Institute Prize, Symposia of West Australian Neuroscience (2006)